The University of Melbourne/Department of Mathematics and Statistics School Mathematics Competition

56409 62803

The University of Melbourne School Mathematics Competition has been in existence since 1972. It is wholly organised and run by volunteer staff of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at The University of Melbourne. The competition is of a demanding standard, designed to identify real mathematical talent. Between 3000 and 5000 students enter, and 50 students in each of the Junior (Year 7 & 8), Intermediate (Year 9 & 10) and Senior (Year 11 & 12) sections are awarded prizes. The nature of the problems is different from that encountered in school mathematics syllabi, being less mechanical and requiring a higher level of mathematical insight and creativity. Only the most highly talented mathematical students are invited to participate in this competition. It attempts to identify, reward and encourage high mathematical talent among the school population. Over the years the number of participants has steadily increased from around 2500 students to the current level of approximately 4000 students, all coming from about 120 Victorian secondary colleges.

It is with great pleasure that I can announce that Matthew Xu of Year 8 has achieved a Certificate of Merit and Hollis Huang of Year 10 has achieved an Outstanding Award. Both boys will receive their certificates at a formal ceremony on Saturday, 8th October at the University of Melbourne. This places Hollis in the top twenty five in the Junior section and Matthew in the top fifty students in the Intermediate section who participated in this competition.

This fine result follows on from successes last year with Ron Chen, Reilly Collins and Eddie Yu, who all received Certificates of Merit, Ron Chen and Holly Fryer who each received Certificates of Merit in 2014 and by Alan Wu who received an Outstanding Award in 2013.

On behalf of the school, I would like to commend all students who participated in this competition, and in particular, Matthew and Hollis, for their excellent achievement.

by Gary Collins, Head of Mathematics
and  Anthea Watkins, Horizon Program Coordinator





2022 Term Dates