Boys Junior School Speech Night

Our Speech Nights are very special evenings and afford us the opportunity to recognize and celebrate the achievements of our Junior School boys throughout this year. 

We also specifically thank our Year Six boys for their contributions as they leave our Junior School.

Presentation of Awards

The Deakin Shield Award – Awarded to the boy who displays community spirit, excellence in all endeavours and high levels of co-operation.   Mark Evans

Sports Award-  Awarded to the boy who attains excellence in a range of sports whilst maintaining a high level of sportsmanship, endeavour and commitment in all that he undertakes. Zack Crowe

Music Award – Awarded to the boy who participates in the Junior School Music Program in a manner that best reflects The Southwood Compass.  Joshua Apsey

Foundation Award -Awarded to the boy who displays all-round academic excellence and commitment to school in all endeavours. Krisshnna Kannan

Southwood Parents Association Award- Awarded to the boy who displays personal effort and a commitment towards self- improvement. Will Butterfield

L D Henshall Award- Awarded to the boy who epitomises the spirit of the Southwood boy; well mannered, optimistic, tolerant, enjoys life and is committed to all that he undertakes. He recognises his obligations and responsibilities and communicates in an open yet respectful manner. Elliott Corcoran


Boys Junior School Leaders 2017      boys-junior-school-speech-night-cover


School Captain    

Alistair Howley                  

Vice Captain        

Jakob Mazonowicz

School Leaders    

Yash Agrawal

Rafi Taylor

Butterss House Captain  

Nicholas Reilly

Dann House Captain      

Max Lalor

Grant House Captain      

Lachlan Moir

McKie House Captain    

Bailey Hanna

Stewart House Captain  

Bowie Kobayashi



2023 Term Dates