The UNSW ICAS Mathematics Competition 2016

img_0197 img_0205

The International Competition and Assessment for Schools (ICAS) Mathematics Competition run by the University of New South Wales is an annual competition participated by students from Australia and 20 countries globally. Tintern Grammar had students from Year 7 to 12 take part and some exceptionally commendable results were obtained: 7 Certificates of High Distinction (top 1%), 51 Certificates of Distinctions (top 10%), and 93 Certificates of Credit (top 30%). All students receive a certificate and an individual student report indicating which questions they answered correctly, their total score as well as their average compared with the rest of the students in the State. The student report is also useful for highlighting student strengths and weaknesses in skills and processes and progress compared to any previous results. Further personal details regarding individual student performance can be obtained from Select Get Student Results from the top left corner of the screen and then enter your TAP-ID and Password (PIN) which are found at the bottom of the letter accompanying the certificate. The best results were as follows:


HIGH DISTINCTION: Oscar De Jong, Oliver Huang, Sayani Kaluarachchi

DISTINCTIONS: Adam Choong, Joshua Choong, Amelia Kenny, Matthew Cobb, Joel Dunn, Alexander Higgins, Angelique Argyros, Freya Bryson, Mitchell Gerin, Jonah Fleming, Zoe Liew, Holly Whitfield, Alana Lawson


HIGH DISTINCTION: Ashleigh Dowling

DISTINCTIONS: Matthew Xu, Charlotte O’Callaghan


HIGH DISTINCTION: Nicolani Susanto

DISTINCTIONS: Eddie Yu, Ron Chen, Daniel Boss, Aidyn Malojer, Olivia Adkins, Jasmin Liew, Madeline Jones, Gemma Bettes, Bianca Gerin, Molly Fleming, Brayden Stokes.


HIGH DISTINCTION: Hollis Huang, Gavin Choong 

DISTINCTIONS: Rita Chen, Victor Tran, Holly Fryer, Mae Eadie, Ruby Wensor, Kevin Xu, Olivia Ma, Daniella Cosentino, Emma Scealy, Peter Cobb, Elizabeth O’Dell, Annabelle McKenzie, Brianna Oldmeadow.


DISTINCTIONS: Edward Wang, Alison Yang, Sabrina Wang, Maya Watt.


DISTINCTIONS: Corey Robinson, Simon Pywell, Alan Wu, Madeleine Tillyer, Nadia Penman, Michael Gao, Maksis Darzins, Keely McGovern.         

Congratulations to all students who participated in this year’s Competition!

by Gary Collins, Head of Mathematics









2022 Term Dates