2016 Computational and Algorithmic Thinking Competition

The results of the 2016 Computational and Algorithmic Thinking Competition were released recently. This competition was conducted on March 22 with the aim of identifying students who have a talent for designing and writing computer programs. Each student sat a one hour paper with 15 questions requiring logic and problem solving skills.

Of the 29 entrants, 21 students were awarded credits or better. These students were:

Upper Primary division (Years 5 & 6)

Max Lalor High Distinction
Jakob Mazonowicz Distinction
Amber Wild Distinction
Maxwell Adam Credit
Genevieve Gough Credit
Annabelle Guscott Credit
Emmy Horman Credit
Millie Jensen Credit
Ella Jones Credit
Krisshnaa Kannan Credit
Aleisha Paul Credit
Ella Callow-Sussex Credit

Junior division (Years 7 & 8)

Freya Bryson Distinction          
Alexander Higgins Credit

Intermediate division (Years 9 & 10)

Ron Chen Distinction           
Ruby Wensor Distinction
Daniella Cosentino Credit

Senior division (Years 11 & 12)

Michael Gao  Distinction 
Anna Harvey   Credit
Alan Wu   Credit
Alison Yang Credit

This was the first year that Tintern entered students in the Upper Primary division and with a large number of participants, three quarters of those who entered achieved a Credit or better. Particularly noteworthy was the achievement of Max Lalor in Year 5 who was competing in the lower half of his age division yet received a percentile rank of 100.

These are excellent achievements and all students who entered this challenging competition are to be congratulated on their efforts. Students who are interested in learning more about computer programming are encouraged to enter the NCSS Programming Challenge which will be advertised in Term 3.

by John Holland, Head of ICT





2022 Term Dates